I’m back & a Book Report

I’ve been missing in action the past few months. We were out of the country, but I’m back now and have sort of good blogging intentions. We’ll see how they pan out.

First off, since I’ve been home I stumbled upon The W.O.W. Diet at the library and just finished reading it. It was an interesting read. The author, Michelle Snow, frustrated with chronic constipation and finding no relief in conventional medical wisdom, sets out to research religious teachings on the subject of diet. However, she is a registered nurse with a PhD in public health, so she throws in scientific study to back up her religious findings. And I will say she seems to be discriminating in regards to the research she will accept; she recognizes that many studies are flawed and these are not the backbone of her story. It is largely a personal dietary journey.

Michelle researched dietary beliefs as listed in the Old Testament, as well as the specific religious beliefs corresponding to members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (Mormons), Seventh Day Adventists, Buddhists, Islam, Hinduism, and Judaism. And she weighed her findings with her past reactions to food.

After a year on her determined diet she had lost 32 pounds, no longer had problems with constipation (or morning breath), was satisfied with smaller portion sizes, and no longer experienced indefinable cravings after meals. Interesting because from my perspective, most of these results are connected to the relief of constipation problems.

I don’t agree with her final diet plan, wouldn’t be happy eating that way myself. For instance, she uses meat quite regularly. However, I can see how this would be a vast improvement over the typical S.A.D. diet, not least because she eliminates processed foods.

What I did find interesting is that she limited even whole grain flour, and ate a lot of “pulse”. That is, grain and bean combinations. I really like the idea of adding more of this type of food into my diet. She would combine 3 or 4 types of grains and several types of beans along with fresh veggies & herbs and eat this for lunches. Sounds great!

C

I also read this book and want to add the salads made from whole grains, beans, veggies, and herbs to my menus. The author describes her efficient method of preparing so many varieties of grains (she uses canned beans) and chopped veggies in just a few hours once a week. I’m hoping that eating this will curb hunger for longer than a green salad with some added beans does. Michelle Snow also includes a 3 o’clock snack each day. Instead of trying and failing to resist a childhood habit, she plans a healthy alternative to the sweets of her past. I’ve also had mixed success at resisting a late afternoon snack and have sometimes eaten unhealthy food because that was all that was available at the time. This book was thoughtfully written with a lot of humor and personality showing through making it fun to read.

M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 thoughts on “I’m back & a Book Report

Leave a Reply

