31 Days of Menus: Midweek Menus

So, I thought I’d mention this week and the way it’s gone because I suspect other people have weeks like this too.

I haven’t been to a grocery store.

I didn’t have menus planned out for the week.

And, of course, we still needed to eat.

Monday, I realized the potential problem and that I had a few leftovers, but I was really craving Roasted Red Pepper Dip. So, instead of utilizing the leftovers we had taco salad. πŸ™‚
This consists of corn chips topped with things like beans, lettuce, tempeh, tomatoes, onions, olives, peppers, grated carrots, salsa, Roasted Red Pepper Dip, etc. Just use what you have, no need to go out and buy all the toppings.

Tuesday, I had still not rectified the problem. But, decided to go ahead and take advantage of the cooked rice and Sweet & Sour sauce in the fridge from last week. So, I made a stir fry with what we had on hand; cabbage, broccoli, carrots, onion, that might be all I used. It was delicious, if I do say so myself. And I think, the fastest thing I could have come up with for dinner.

Wednesday, and still no plan. I decided while heading out the door for the afternoon that Lentil-Rice casserole (scroll down for the recipe) would be the answer to my problems. πŸ™‚ So, as soon as we got home I popped that into the oven. We did eat a bit later than usual, but it was nice to have a no fuss dinner and be able to spend the cooking time getting other things done.
This time I used broccoli instead of peppers and I highly recommend stirring that in during the last 20 to 30 minutes of baking to avoid the undesireableness (new word, if I ever put a dictionary on this blog, it will be there, ;-)) of overcooked broccoli.

So, late Wednesday night I took the time to figure out the rest of the week.
Here’s what I’m planning on:

Thursday, Thick and Creamy Potato Soup

Friday, Lo Mein from The 30 Minute Vegan’s Taste of the East

Saturday, still working on this one.

Sunday, we’re trying out the Roasted Veggies recipe by Traci Sellers

And at some point, probably Saturday we’ll vary the breakfast menu a bit and try out Peanut Butter, Jam, & Banana Breakfast Pizza (I’m going to substitute coconut oil for the earth balance used in this recipe).

I think that cooking/menu planning on the fly like this is easier if you have spent a few years cooking, planning menus, etc. Then you know without too much effort what you can do with the things you have on hand, what your family will eat, etc. And still I wouldn’t recommend it.
That said, I think the beauty of these dinners in that they are all quite quick and utilize veggies available in the fall.

C

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Menus: Midweek Menus

  1. I can’t tell you how refreshing it is to hear that someone else has the same issues I have! lol… I can’t wait to check out some of these recipes you posted here… Thanks!

Leave a Reply

