Sweet and Sour Sauce-A Recipe Conversion

I’ve been searching for a sweet and sour sauce for several years now. I was never able to find one that tasted right to us, and used acceptable ingredients. Usually, they turned out too sweet tasting. So, last week I just bit the bullet and decided to come up with one once and for all that would taste great and work for my family.
I started out with a search for sweet and sour recipes, still hoping to find something out there that needed just a little bit of tweaking. Instead, I found this. Now to be fair, there were a few recipes available whose ingredients were closer to whole foods, but I wanted something I didn’t need to go shopping to make. 🙂
So, I knew right off that those proportions would make the sauce way too sweet for our family. I replaced the sugar with 1/4 cup of honey. Next, I don’t cook with white vinegar, so I traded that out for apple cider vinegar, and cut the amount down just a bit to 1/4 cup. I used 1/2 cup of pineapple juice in addition to 1/4 cup of water for the rest of the liquid. Since I didn’t have any ketchup made up, I figured it would be easier to just use straight tomato paste, I added 2 Tablespoons. Rather than cornstarch I thickened it with Arrowroot powder, I kept the amount the same, 2 Tablespoons, but I think it could be cut down to 1 1/2 Tablespoons and still work just fine. That’s the conversion process, as near as I can come to explaining it anyway. I hope it helps someone with their own recipe dilemma. And if not, at least you’ll have a new sweet and sour sauce recipe.

Sweet and Sour Sauce

1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup pineapple juice
1/4 cup water
2 Tablespoon Arrowroot powder
2 Tablespoons Tomato paste

Mix all this together in a small saucepan and cook and stir over a medium heat until it has thickened to the desired consistency. Thin with additional water if needed.

C

One thought on “Sweet and Sour Sauce-A Recipe Conversion

Leave a Reply

