Convenience Food without the convenience food

Say, it’s been awhile since you went on a major grocery shopping trip, say June. And let’s just say that there is no quick convienience food option available in your house. And you wait until 6 p.m. to think about fixing dinner, because that is the smart thing to do when everything in the house needs to be made from scratch, right?
So, you start to think about dinner. And fast food sounds like the only option, except it’s not an option. What do you do? Well, I’ll tell you what I did, I mean what I would do if such an unplanned crazy thing ever happened in my life. ๐Ÿ™‚
Quinoa to the rescue! That’s right, I happened to remember my trusty-cooks in only 15 minutes- stash of quinoa. So, I washed some and popped it onto the stove to cook. Then started chopping the vegetables I would need to add towards the end of the cook time, yellow squash (wouldn’t be summer without it) and carrots. Once that was done, I got out a bowl and started adding the veggies that don’t need to cook, onion slices, cherry tomato halves, and a bit of diced garlic (of course). The rest of the garlic went into a jar, so I could mix up my Standard Viniagrette to toss onto this creation. I added the zucchini and carrots to the quinoa, when there were 7 minutes left on the timer. Then I grabbed a cup of frozen peas from the freezer and set that aside until the quinoa was done, and finished mixing up the dressing.
When the veggie/quinoa mix was done to my satisfaction (it took a few extra minutes to get the carrots softened up a bit), I added it to the bowl and stirred in the frozen peas and dressing. This took about 1/2 hour, start to finish. Of course, our dinner was delayed another 15 min. or so while I scavenged in the backyard for some fresh fruit. It was a successful trip out back, I came in with ripe Asian pears to serve with our quinoa salad. Which by the way, had a confetti-like appearance with the tomatoes, carrots, yellow squash, and peas popping up all over the quinoa. It was pretty tasty, and definitely better than a pre-packaged dinner!

C

3 thoughts on “Convenience Food without the convenience food

  1. My mouth is watering! I will definitely be recreating that meal at our house.

    Fabulous name by the way… I have to admit that I was very confused when I saw the email with my name on it, I didn’t remember posting a comment on my blog! Yah, it was that kind of day :-). I’m happy to find a new friend and will be happily scouring your blog for other yummy finds.

Leave a Reply

