Whole Foods Starter Kit: Egg replacers for baking

In baking, eggs are used both as a binder and a leavener; eggs help bind all the ingredients together and help the baked good raise. Some plant based binders are pumpkin, banana, ground flax seed, and applesauce. All of these have strong flavors except the applesauce, so I only use the others when I’m making banana bread or pumpkin muffins and so on.  In other words, I’ve planned on using that flavor in whatever I’m baking. The ground flax seed mixed with water gives the food a nutty, gritty, health foody taste which works well in nutty, crunchy foods. However, if I’m making brownies or blueberry muffins for example, I use applesauce. If I want the applesauce to act as a binder and a leavener, I mix the applesauce with baking powder and let it fizz and make little bubbles before adding it in.

To replace 1 egg:

                1 Tbsp. ground flax seed and 3 Tbsp. water

                                                Or

                ¼ c. applesauce and ½ tsp. baking powder

M

One thought on “Whole Foods Starter Kit: Egg replacers for baking

Leave a Reply

