What to do with random produce

I joined a food co-op last week, the catch is you don’t select exactly what you want to order. You just pick organic or conventional and how many shares you want to pay for that week. Then you go and pick up your share of whatever was ordered.

You can see how pre-planning menus might not work too well with this.

So, I’m now planning around the produce we received on Saturday. It’s kind of fun.

We got:
4 Mangos
1 small Pineapple
5 Kiwis
7 Cameo Apples
5 small Navel oranges
1 bunch of Asparagus
1 package of Romaine Lettuce heads
1 Eggplant (good sized)
1 bunch of fresh Dill
2 Leeks
2 Kabocha Squash
7 LARGE Russet Potatoes

No real need to plan around the fruit here, it will just magically disappear, mostly inside my son.

Our first meal involved Potato-Leek Soup, which I’ve been meaning to try for years, but just never got around to buying leeks.

And sprinkled over the soup is some of the lovely fresh dill and freshly ground black pepper.

It was delicious. There are all kinds of Potato-Leek soup recipes floating around, the one I used was out of Mollie Katzen’s The Enchanted Broccoli Forest. And if you’re faced with the dilemma I was, how much of the leek do you use? I used the white and light green sections, if I did it again (and I will) I would peel off the outter leaves and use the inner light green sections too.

Now, what to do with the eggplant? I was thinking eggplant tofu stir-fry, but I think now we’ll go with Baba Ghanouj. In fact I found so many delicious sounding eggplant recipes that I wanted to run out and buy more of it, but I talked myself into holding off until we go through the rest of this produce.

C

3 thoughts on “What to do with random produce

  1. Is that the bountiful baskets co-op? I’ve been meaning to sign up for that, but I think I can only do it on Tuesdays and I keep forgetting.

    Do you get organic or regular produce? And isn’t there a price difference?

    Haha, I laughed at the part how most of the fruit will disappear “inside your son.” Cute!

Leave a Reply

