On Birthdays

          How to celebrate on a plant based diet, hmm. . . Well, I guess that really depends on the person and what they like to do. I’ll tell you that my favorite birthday involved a picnic outdoors when it was warm enough to wear a T-shirt (that was the exciting part) in January.
        Anyway, the best chocolate cake recipe I have found just happens to be available online from the folks at Moosewood restaurant. It’s delicious! However, having just reviewed the recipe I realized that I don’t use the same ingredients they do. But, it’s close. Use the same measurements, just substitute straight across. I use whole wheat flour instead of white, sucanat for the sugar, water for the water or coffee option, and extra virgin olive oil for the oil. And I’ve never tried the glaze, but if I were going to, I would use grain sweetened chocolate chips for the chocolate.
Also, if you mix this in a bowl instead of the baking pan it is just the right amount of batter for 12 cupcakes.
Happy Birthday!

C

Leave a Reply

