Lessons Learned from not Menu Planning

The last few weeks I’ve been busy with other occupations besides cooking. I didn’t menu plan at all. I just went to the grocery store and bought what sounded good, including a bunch of the healthiest processed food available. Because I had no plan for using fresh fruits and vegetables in meals, they became side dishes instead of the foundation of my meals. I have not felt very healthy lately, so I have learned my lesson. No matter how healthy processed food may profess to be, it is not even close to providing the nutrients that fruits and vegetables do. Don’t get me wrong, I still plan on eating processed food at times, like when I’m busy or in need of a treat. However, I don’t plan on ever eating mainly processed food for several weeks in a row again. It doesn’t take much time to make a salad each day or throw soup ingredients in the crockpot. Cooking homemade meals takes more planning ahead than time. If I had planned ahead for the busy time in my life, I should have made a bunch of freezer meals. That way I still wouldn’t need to spend a bunch of time cooking, but I wouldn’t have had to rely on quick cooking processed foods.

M

Leave a Reply

