A Menu for the Week of Thanksgiving

The idea of these menus is to cook a bunch at the beginning of the week in order to have leftovers and frozen meals, so I don’t have to cook much at the end of the week when I’d rather be spending time with family.

 Breakfasts:

  • Blueberry muffins and fruit
  • Homemade granola with soymilk
  • Pumpkin waffles and bananas

Lunches:

  • Green salads and fruit  
  • BLT (Bacon Lettuce Tomato) sandwiches with bacon flavored tempeh
  • leftovers from dinners                                                                                                                                                                     

Dinners: 

  • Baked potato with chili (Amy’s brand) on top, fruit or salad
  • Nachos
  • Mashed potatoes, chicken style gravy, soy substitute turkey slices, and vegetables
  • Lentil-barley soup, salad or fruit
  • Tofu scramble or stir fry with tempeh, fruit

 Desserts:

  • Apple Cranberry Crisp 
  • Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • Mint Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream

 Explanatory Notes, Tips, Recipe Sources, etc.

 Muffins and fruit-You can freeze the batter in paper muffin cups. Then when you cook them, just add 8 minutes to the regular time. That way you can have fresh muffins any morning you want. I just pop them in the oven on my way to the shower and they’re done cooking by the time I’m ready to face the day. See page 46 in Vegan With A Vengeance.

            When I was planning the menus, I didn’t specify the fruit because I wanted to leave myself open to get whatever the grocery store had that was either on sale or in good condition.

 Homemade granola- Add some ground flaxseed after baking the oat mixture for added nutrition. Heating the flaxseed will destroy some of that nutrition. Freeze your granola if you’d like it to last a little longer than 1 week.

 Pumpkin waffles-See previous post titled “A Breakfast Menu and A Cookbook Review” for recipe source and tips about freezing and using later.

 BLT sandwiches-One of the fastest, tastiest ways to try out tempeh is Lightlife’s “bacon” tempeh (referred to as smokey tempeh strips). It comes pre-sliced and marinated; all you do is fry it up.

 Nachos

  1. spread tortilla chips on plate (I use Tostitos Natural brand chips although there is more salt than I prefer, but they are made with expeller pressed oil and I can get them from my local grocery store.)
  2. spoon refried beans onto each chip
  3. microwave for 1 minute
  4. pile high with vegetables, like tomatoes, red or orange bell peppers, salsa, avocado, with spinach on top.
  5. I eat each chip like a sandwich with the bread being a chip on the bottom and several spinach leaves on the top. The filling is the refried beans and the other vegetables. This is a fast and easy meal for a single. If you’d like to make it for a family, simply prepare a cookie sheet of the chips and beans, broil (lower the oven rack, so your chips don’t burn) and let everyone add their own toppings.

 chicken style gravy-Recipe from the Passionate Vegetarian by Crescent Dragonwagon

 Soy substitute turkey slices-I’m using Tofurkey brand based on Cherie’s recommendation.

Lentil-Barley Soup-See recipe in previous post titled “A Fall Menu.”

 Tofu scramble or stir fry with tempeh-This is to use up whatever vegetables I have left in the refrigerator.

 Apple Cranberry Crisp-Recipe from the Peaceful Palate by Jennifer Raymond. I don’t normally plan dessert into my menus at all, but this week is a holiday.

 Chocolate Chip Cookies-I made Dreena Burton’s Homestyle Chocolate Chip Cookies. You can find the recipe on her website. http://viveleveganrecipes.blogspot.com/ then search for Homestyle Chocolate Chip Cookies. I use whole wheat flour.

 Mint Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream-I buy this at the health food store for special occasions or when I need a pick me up treat.

Happy Thanksgiving and good luck with your healthy eating!

M

Leave a Reply

