Eat to Live, Considering the First 6 weeks

I guess I should mention for those unfamiliar with the book that Eat to Live is a book on diet and weight loss by Joel Fuhrman, M.D.. Although the topic is weight loss, the diet is meant as a lifestyle change and not a temporary fix to lose weight. It is quite well researched and backed up by scientific studies; I’ve been impressed with it so far.
So, I’ve been pondering what a shopping list would look like for a person eating this diet for one week.
In part because while I have added a lot more salad into my diet since starting this book, I come nowhere close to the amount he recommends. In fact I realized that 1 pound of raw salad is equivalent to the huge Costco spring mix containers. Fortunately, I also noticed that the one pound of raw vegetables daily is not supposed to consist entirely of salad greens.
The Shopping List:
2 Heads of Romaine Lettuce
2 Heads each of Red and Green Leaf Lettuce
5 oz. container of prewashed baby spinach
2 bunches of fresh broccoli ( I like broccoli)
1/2 pound fresh carrots
1 head of cauiflower
1/2 pound alfalfa sprouts (personally I would sprout these at home)
1 pound of mushrooms
2 onions
1 head of garlic
1 pound of frozen green beans
1 pound frozen lima beans
3 cans of misc. beans (or 6 cups home cooked)
1-12 oz. package of tofu or tempeh
1 head of green cabbage
3 bunches of kale
1 pound fresh or frozen spinach (to be eaten cooked)
3 Pomegranates
5 apples
3 bananas
1 pound grapes
2 lemons
4 oranges
2 pears
2 sweet potatoes
1 delicata squash
1 1/2 cups of oatmeal
1 avacado
7 Tablespoons flax seed
1/4 cup walnuts
1 slice of whole grain bread (freeze the rest of the loaf)

That is my guess off the top of my head, of things that are mostly easily available in November and seem to fit in with Dr. Fuhrman’s plan. This might even be a bit light on greens and vegetables to be eaten raw. I wonder what kind of weekly menus would result from taking this list and turning it into meals?

C

2 thoughts on “Eat to Live, Considering the First 6 weeks

Leave a Reply

