Losing Weight On a Plant Based Diet – Part 2

What really got me thinking about making changes was reading Chef AJ’s story (here). (For a story with more detail, try this) I started debating about whether or not I should be cutting out nuts, and then reality hit, ;-). Umm, shouldn’t I worry about the excessive sugar (see previous post), or the oils I cook with first?

I have since read a few things that have tweaked my ideas on the changes I need to make in my life. The first was some advice from a French doctor specializing in nutrition. (In “Forever Chic” by Tish Jett) He, Denis Lamboley points out to the author that there are only two reasons to eat, “hunger and pleasure”. Well, yeah, duh! But, wait. Is that always why I am eating? Or, more to the point, do I eat unhealthy, fatty foods when I am hungry rather than the nutritious foods my body needs. And so, when I am eating these things that should be treats, am I really enjoying them? No, often I am not.

Back to a basic premise I had when I very first started to cut sugar out. I was cutting it down, not out. And my rule was, if I ate sugar I should enjoy it. Desserts only, nothing hidden in the main course, etc.

I kind of modified his statement in my thoughts. It became, “there are only two reasons for eating, nutrition and pleasure”. And again, that made me think. If I am eating for hunger, it should also be for nutrition. If I am eating for pleasure, well then, I should be enjoying my food, right?

Perhaps this isn’t helpful if you feel you enjoy EVERYTHING you eat, but I think for most of us, focusing on why we make the food choices we do is extremely helpful. In the long and short run.

IMG_2367

So, as a second step, I need to make sure I have healthy options available so that when I get hungry I can eat those instead of looking for a quick snack. Right now I have a big bowl of my favorite salad in the fridge and the dressing to accompany it right there too.

C

4 thoughts on “Losing Weight On a Plant Based Diet – Part 2

  1. Interesting thoughts. I need to get back to trying to clean up my diet… I think I’ve let about 10 pounds creep back on and I’m starting to feel it. Not fun!
    I have a hard time finding recipes that are low fat + filling. That cookbook you just posted about sounds interesting. Usually I find recipes that are low fat but leave us unsatisfied or high fat and filling.

  2. I’ve been thinking about what fills me up (and sometimes it seems to take a lot to do it). I think, for me, it comes down to concentrated protein sources (beans, tofu), starchy vegetables (like potatoes, or sweet potatoes), or whole grains (quinoa, oatmeal). Of course I fill in with lots of other veggies, but if I eat a large salad, with no beans for example, I will fill up, but am more likely than not to feel like I’m starving in about an hour.

Leave a comment